Do it NOW!

The Diva and I were taking the other day about the strange human custom of making new year resolutions. You know that old chestnut when they decide that new year is the time to do (or not do) all the good (or not so good) things they’ve been doing all year? Well would someone please tell these humans that the only new year resolution that works is the one that resolves to make no more new year resolutions!

Now we canine people can show these humans a thing or two when it comes to resolutions. This is because we doggies know and we have always known that the only place to live in the now – not in the past or the future but right now.

Makes me barking mad when I hear Mum or Dad droning on about doing whatever and then not doing it now. I mean someone mentions a walk (without coat you understand) and there I am with waggy tail and waiting to go until I realise they don’t mean right now.  When is the walk? Quite frankly if it is not right now then to me it isn’t happening. Think about it.

So humans when your dog tells you he, or she, is living in the present that is exactly what they mean. So please don’t go getting our hopes up with promises of walks, swims, beach runs or anything else unless it is happening right now.

Now this is something of the canine nature you humans would do well to copy. I mean we are much happier living in the now.

’ Why is that?’ I hear a Great Dane’s Mum ask.

‘How can this be?’ utters the Dad of a Cavalier King Charles in disbelief.

Well-meaning they may be, loving they may be but the human being is definitely not the smartest puppy in the litter so, because we love ‘em, we must make it easy for them to understand.

So Mums, Dads and Aunty Hecs the world over if you want to:

  • start doing something good – do it now
  • stop doing something not so good – do it now
  • if you want to learn a language – do it now
  • if you want to give us doggies more treats – do it now
  • if you want to give us extra tummy rubs – well you get the picture…

Till next time. Love & leggies, Nutty x

DCIM100MEDIA

All this thinking has made me tired. I need a rest – and I’m having it now!

About nuttyboomboom

I am a miniature dachshund, I live with Mum & Dad in rural Ayrshire and have a variety of interests including - first and foremost - the sooky (at which I am a bit of an expert), guarding things, squeak toys and cushions. I have an opinion on just about everything and I am a founder member of the Canine Advanced Training Society (CATS) which is a voluntary organisation offering help and advice to other anipals who are demented by stubborn and ill-trained owners.

2 responses to “Do it NOW!

  1. Aunty Hec

    Ah, so now we have the SPIRITUAL Nutty! There is no end to the knowledge contained inside his doggy brain. Nutty is truly amazing, heavenly and divine. This wee guy is gonna change the ways of life on earth – make no mistake fans!

Leave a Reply

