Rain, Coats & how to be a Responsible Owner

We dachshunds hate rain. Personally I hate rain so much if I was asked to pick which I hate more rain or coats I would have a hard time choosing. Trouble is rain and coats often go together especially in these winter months making it a hate-hate situation for me.

I shouldn’t complain (but I do – and frequently) because Mum & Dad tend not to need walked so much during heavy rain, snow or sleety weather. They are getting smart though and let me know it’s time for their walk by putting their own coats on. Once they are coated, booted and gloved up for the wintry weather, I resign myself to leaving my cosy warm blankets and wearing one of my outrageous number of stinky coats.

I tend to show complete disinterest here because I know whatever coat is selected I will hate it. I generally stand stock still with a hangdog expression on my wee houndy face just to make sure Mum in particular (since she seems to be the main coat purchaser) understands that I am wearing it under duress. Makes no difference though and I am squeezed into the infernal coat like a sausage into a skin and off we jolly well trot.

That is I trot so I can get home quicker but Mum & Dad have become quite good at keeping up. I suppose it’s fair to say I am a bit of a fair-weather walker. If the sun is shining I’m right there romping on the beach or running through the golf course with the best of them but in winter – well who can blame me for preferring my snuggly-wuggly (Mum’s word, not mine!) bed under the radiator?

But I have humans to walk and I take my responsibilities as an owner seriously. A human is not just for Christmas as we all know so we canine creatures have undertaken to take care of our Mums & Dads which means, unfortunately, walking them regularly hail, rain or shine. I suppose they are worth it…

Till next time. Love & leggies, Nutty x

DCIM100MEDIA

Mum and me – and coats!

About nuttyboomboom

I am a miniature dachshund, I live with Mum & Dad in rural Ayrshire and have a variety of interests including - first and foremost - the sooky (at which I am a bit of an expert), guarding things, squeak toys and cushions. I have an opinion on just about everything and I am a founder member of the Canine Advanced Training Society (CATS) which is a voluntary organisation offering help and advice to other anipals who are demented by stubborn and ill-trained owners.

2 responses to “Rain, Coats & how to be a Responsible Owner

  1. Aunty Hec

    Very well observed Nutman! You have the habits of your human charges off to a “t”! I know they do tend to have some strange habits, but I know you think it is worth perservering with them, because they do have other qualities that are commendable. Apart, that is, from the infernal COAT situation. Ah well, let’s live in hopes that one day they will have a light-bulb moment. Of course, you could always show them how to achieve this – cos you have light-bulb moments all the time. Clever little daxy that you are!

  2. Aw Aunty Heccles – you know how to make a daxie blush 🙂

Leave a Reply

