Cold Daze & Coats

As all my anipals will know, I hate coats. By coats I also mean, jumpers (hand-knitted or otherwise), cute hats, kilts (yes anipals I have actually seen a poor dachshund in a kilt!  Not attractive!) or anything else that is not fur.

Yes anipals I love wearing FUR, my own natural FUR and nothing else. Is it my fault that my fur is (Mum says) too fine to keep the cold out? Of course not I hear you all cry and right you are too – yet Mum insists on decking me out in an assortment of outdoor wear whenever we brave the elements from October to April (one blustery day in May last year I remember being squeezed into a coat but that, anipals, is a whole different story).

So what is to be done with such a stubborn Mum I hear you ask. Hmm. Good question. I believe Mum takes her stubbornness from me because dachshunds win prizes for tenacity. However when it comes to outdoor wear, Mum has me beat. I have tried everything: sookys, leans, snugly-wugglys, sad puppy dog eyes, pathetic whines, hiding, hangdog expression and I tell you friends nothing works – the woman is relentless.

When my body grew too long for the coats I smelled a glimmer of hope but no: Mum simply purchased a selection of longer coats and gave the old ones to animal charity. Mum then informed me that these new coats will last for a long, long (pun intended) time because I am now fully grown.

Mums!

You have to love them.

Till next time. Love & leggies, Nutty x

DCIM100MEDIA

Mum wrestling me into a coat.

About nuttyboomboom

I am a miniature dachshund, I live with Mum & Dad in rural Ayrshire and have a variety of interests including - first and foremost - the sooky (at which I am a bit of an expert), guarding things, squeak toys and cushions. I have an opinion on just about everything and I am a founder member of the Canine Advanced Training Society (CATS) which is a voluntary organisation offering help and advice to other anipals who are demented by stubborn and ill-trained owners.

4 responses to “Cold Daze & Coats

  1. Shiva Diva

    Nutty try growing wider!!!!!!!!! 🙂
    I have done that – apparently now i m on diet food – pah !!!

  2. Ah ha Miss Bond – you may be right!

  3. Aunty Hec

    Coats – coats – more coats – long coats – short coats – oh dear, there is no coat escape for Nutty! I thInk Nutty’s Mum dreams at night about……..COATS…………………!!!! And Nutty has NIGHTMARES about them hehe!!!

Leave a Reply

