Nutty 2

If you remember the story My Mummy Knitted Me you will understand how worried I was when Mum decided to knit a dachshund. Although Mum did explain it was as a REMINDER for her desk not as a REPLACEMENT ‘Who could replace you Nutty’ she said and I tended to believe her because as you know anipals Mum’s never tell lies and as my Mum is the greatest Mum ever I knew she was telling the truth.

Even so I would sneak looks at this knitted trespasser as he was on Mum’s clacketty needles… Now me, it took a long time for me to grow to my full size of 14 inches long but this guy – well he was growing so fast I seriously began to wonder if our house was big enough for him and for me.

Dachshunds can be tricky creatures though and if anyone is looking for a pawsome way to get sookying whilst Mum is busy doing something else then stealth is key. I learned to sneak up on Mum’s lap like a wee furry ninja; slowly, slowly without her knowing and the needles clacking away and the knitted dachshund getting bigger by the minute… until one short leap and I was there… on Mum’s knee all sookyed in and with a ball of wool to play with as an added bonus.

Word of warning here anipals, if you do try this manoeuvre remember never to unravel the wool because this will instantly displease Mum and you will find yourself consigned to the floor (this happened to me – several times). Simply curl up on the lap and hold the wool (loosely) between the paws and you will find Mum clacks on and you get secret sookys with the additional benefit of keeping an eye on the rival.

‘Nutty 1 meet Nutty 2,’ Mum said when the multi-coloured interloper was finally finished and I got to sniff him and let him know there is only one alpha dachshund in this house – and it’s definitely not him. Still Nutty 2 did not seem to mind and he just sat there letting me have a good old sniff at his bum and his ears without a word of complaint.

Mum was so pleased by his behaviour that she look a picture of us both and I have to say Nutty 2 is not too shabby. He is Mum’s first attempt at knitting so she is very proud – although I have gently suggested she try knitting a jumper for Dad next time.

Till next time,

Love & Leggies, Nutty x

DCIM100MEDIA

Nutty 1 meets Nutty 2

About nuttyboomboom

I am a miniature dachshund, I live with Mum & Dad in rural Ayrshire and have a variety of interests including - first and foremost - the sooky (at which I am a bit of an expert), guarding things, squeak toys and cushions. I have an opinion on just about everything and I am a founder member of the Canine Advanced Training Society (CATS) which is a voluntary organisation offering help and advice to other anipals who are demented by stubborn and ill-trained owners.

2 responses to “Nutty 2

  1. I want a knitted friend too xxx
    I just have some sheepskin rugs I’m quite friendly with

Leave a Reply

