Barking Mad

Everyone knows the canine creature is the most sensible, settled, calm and collected creature ever to walk DOG’s earth and I for one, would not be the dachshund to sway that opinion.

Now all that being said, humans are a little bit daft when it comes to being barking mad. They don’t understand the value of it you see. Now when the wheelie bin comes rolling out along our driveway of a Thursday morning any sensible person would be running alongside barking, whooping and generally guiding the bin to its designated position on the street.

Not so for humans. Every week without fail I am shushed, wheeshed and told not to bark when carrying out this important piece of work. Once Dad even went to the trouble of sneaking out the side gate to get the bin without alerting me. Fortunately my huge flappy dachshund ears pricked up and I was soon out there on patrol barking as loudly as possible to make up for any lost time.. Of course as the bin is barked out it must also be barked in – how else is it going to know where to go?

Other barking duties include leaf barking, people-you-don’t-really-like barking, doorbell barking, other-dogs-walking-past-your-house barking, barking at The Deev when she comes to visit, barking at The Deev when she leaves and of course it goes without saying we dogs have our regular barkees such as postmen, milkmen, delivery people in general as well as neighbours and the neighbour’s cat.

So with all these duties to cram in on a daily basis it is no wonder we get a little pee(ved) when our humans, with singular lack of understanding which has to be barked to be believed, fail to grasp the importance of barking, our primary responsibility.

So it is thus anipals that we dogs have been endowed by DOG the Creator with such steadfastness and loyalty (as well as understanding for those creatures less intelligent than ourselves) that we continue to carry out our barking duties even when obstructed from doing so.

My advice is to keep training your humans and one day they will grasp in paw the importance our dogly duties. In the meantime anipals, bark on…

Until next time.

Love & leggies, Nutty x

Nutty 006

Making sure Dad doesn’t try to sneak Blue Wheelie out without me!

About nuttyboomboom

I am a miniature dachshund, I live with Mum & Dad in rural Ayrshire and have a variety of interests including - first and foremost - the sooky (at which I am a bit of an expert), guarding things, squeak toys and cushions. I have an opinion on just about everything and I am a founder member of the Canine Advanced Training Society (CATS) which is a voluntary organisation offering help and advice to other anipals who are demented by stubborn and ill-trained owners.

6 responses to “Barking Mad

  1. Chris

    Oh great, NOW I understand what it’s all about. Never again will I now be tempted to shush a doggy in full barking flow. I should have known. Ah well, better late than never, eh? Another human successfuly educated Nutty!

  2. AS I kept reading and saw where this was going, I enjoyed it till the very last drop! This was one that made me look up and see if I was following and think WHAT? and click right away!
    Thank you for stopping by my blog and likeing my post! I am glad you did cuzzzz I know I am going to love your blog!
    XOXO
    Now gotta go send this one to one of my besties who once made me sit thru a whole movie just about daschunds! lol.

  3. Thank you for putting a big grin on my face today! Finally I understand our late doggie’s duty better! And indeed, the joy of barking in the wheelie bin, barking off the neighbour’s dog, barking away the boys on the squeeky skeelers (dangerous hobby, that), barking along passers by, etc. etc.

Leave a Reply

