I Scream, You Scream…

We anipals enjoy the simple things in life; the sun on our fur, a gentle summer breeze, the scent of the first daffodil – and ice cream. 

Take me for example, I do enjoy an ice cream. I love to let my long tongue wrap itself around the deliciously cold confection and sssslurp right into the mouth and down the throat quick as you like sir. I have found it best to make this move particularly quickly before Mum or Dad decide I’ve had enough and tries to take the ice cream away. This of course can never happen. I am much too fast.

Anipals like me who are ice cream aficionados will appreciate the difficulty we have is not in retaining the ice cream once we have sniffed it out – but how to encourage our humans to relinquish the ice cream they think is theirs into our waiting little jaws. Our dear bipeds sometimes get confused and think this ice cold treat is for them… well it is but not exclusively you understand.

If you are experiencing this difficulty yourself dear furry friends, especially with the summer coming in and ice cream delights being extra enticing I have discovered the best way to get Dad to relinquish his ice cream to for me is to persuade him that it is his idea.

Picture this: Dad strolls out of the ice cream shop with a lovely vanilla cone in his hands (vanilla is my favourite, anyone who is interested) and the wise anipal will immediately look cute but without obviously eyeing the cone.

This is a difficult exercise to master initially but with practice the petite ice cream snatcher can easily wind around Dad’s legs (our feline brothers have got it spot on here and this move is perfect for us long-bodied anipals). For added effect try cutely pawing at his ankle whilst at the same time throw out some knock-em-dead puppy dog eyes. When performed correctly this simple combination of moves is utterly delightful to passers-by who will, with a bit of luck, draw attention to our efforts thus inspiring Dad to bend down and…. sssslurp another ice cream bites the dust.

Larger anipals can sit obediently in front of Dad offering a paw with an endearing wag of the tail and a clever nose-to-hand move until the desired result is achieved.

Super-size anipals and sturdy stalwarts such as the Bulldog, Staffie and Rottie have the additional advantage of planting themselves squarely in front of Dad until the ice cream treat is forthcoming.

Till next time.

Love & leggies, Nutty x

DCIM100MEDIADCIM100MEDIADCIM100MEDIADCIM100MEDIA

About nuttyboomboom

I am a miniature dachshund, I live with Mum & Dad in rural Ayrshire and have a variety of interests including - first and foremost - the sooky (at which I am a bit of an expert), guarding things, squeak toys and cushions. I have an opinion on just about everything and I am a founder member of the Canine Advanced Training Society (CATS) which is a voluntary organisation offering help and advice to other anipals who are demented by stubborn and ill-trained owners.

7 responses to “I Scream, You Scream…

  1. Ah great advice Nutty. Shiner enjoys her special ice cream for dogs! I don’t know if they have it where you live though. I do have a recipe to make it at home though. I’m sure human ice cream is much tastier though.

  2. murphygill

    Hey Nutman! Too many ices and you’ll be Fatty Boom Boom, not Nutty Boom Boom!!! Hehehehe!!

    • Sadly I am on a diet since coming back. I weighed 7.3 kg and Mum was not happy 😦
      It’s kibble only for me for the next few weeks till I get back to my fighting weight of a svelte 6.4 kg

  3. Hi Nutty I see myself as a larger anipal but I have no patience and cannot be trusted around any human food at all, especially not anything home made and sitting on the kitchen bench. Byee.

  4. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the layout
    of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so
    people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of
    text for only having 1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out
    better?

Leave a Reply

